San Francisco Gifts Ltd

Sleezy!! Oh for the love of Pete, please don’t spend a penny here. This company wins the sleezebag award of the century. Let me first describe my experience:

“I’d like to return this unopened product that I purchased here [at San Francisco Ltd., McAllister Place] a couple of days ago, here is my receipt”

“We don’t do exchanges or refunds”

“What? This is not written anywhere on my receipt or in your store..”

[employee slides shit on counter to reveal a hand written note secured with a strip of scotch tape] “Yes it is, it is written right here” [points to shitty note]

“Can I please speak to your manager?”

“I am the manager”

“Can I please have the contact for your head office?”

“We don’t give that information out”

With the magic of a simple google search, I was able to find said contact info: 12210 Mount Lawn Road, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, T6E-0A9  fax (780) 436 3155, phone (780) 438 4412, along with documentation on a slew of charges against the sole proprietor of this sleezebag company, Barry Slawsky, for being a sleezebag in the sleeziest of sleeze.

Six years ago, police raided Mr. Slawsky’s (pictured) office in an Edmonton warehouse and found a stash of counterfeit safety labels and a letter from the Chinese manufacturer threatening to go to the authorities about the labels. The counterfeit safety labels were for lamps that were lighting on fire after customers brought them home and plugged them in. Rather than pulling the faulty product from the shelves, and tucking his tail between his legs for being a total douche, genius Slawsky had his genius employees lie to authorities and continued to sell the cheap shit lamps from his 50 stores across Canada. This led to multiple police raids and discovery of further sleezebag offences leading to more sleezebag charges for total sleezebag activity within his stores.

The judge called Slawsky’s case “a despicable fraud,” adding that if Slawsky had pleaded guilty personally (rather than through his company), he would have imposed “a term of imprisonment.” (CBC 2006)

Burning down customer’s houses and fabricating fake labels in order to make a few bucks selling cheap shitty lamps is an awesome idea in the eyes of Slawsky.

I think it would be equally awesome to blatantly rip people off on a daily basis, sell cheap disgusting sex related junk in the back corner of your stores, and ensure your underpaid employees provide super shitty customer service…  there’s no better business model really.

Save yourselves.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Anonomys said,

    wow i know toooo much more that does not begin to describe what a money hungry fuck he is, who is a major power tripper, who can be held accountable for so much more shit he caused in tons of unknowing victims for years and years while he got rich at any cost…mmmm i think my story is worth telling to the right authoritties.who and where do i start

  2. 2

    MAR said,

    I JUST BOUGHT SOME THINGS(HALLOWEEN COSTUMES FROM THIS SUPER SHITTY STORE AND THEY PULLED THE SAME BS ON ME ABOUT NO REFUNDS AND NO EXCHANGES – SO YOU BY SOMETHING FROM THIS STORE AND IF IT IS FAULTY YOU LOSE YOUR MONEY AND THIS CROOK MAKES A FEW BUCKS. I ADVISE PEOPLE TO NEVER BUY A THING FROM THIS CROOK.

  3. 3

    Guest said,

    They are scum for sure. Sad too see another one open at Parkway. Funny the woman running it is the same one that told me and my wife that she would never work for them again, she seemed pretty sincere at the time. I am glad to see the at least the ladies that used to work at the one in McAllister Mall had the sense to not go back. She tried to convince me to buy a vase I looked at it and low and behold it is not a vase it is a drug item. Not just the owners but lady as well should be ashamed of themselves for not only how they treat staff and customers but that they are making a profit on garbage and they still sell electrical items I noticed wonder if they are fakes or are safe.

  4. 4

    Denise Finch said,

    I too purchased a costume from their Halloween Distributors store in Surrey, B.C. and was told the same no refunds. Their staff was rude and their products are garbage.

    I asked for their corporate contact info and was told they didn’t have it. I asked to see their business license and was told they didn’t know where it was.

    I made a complaint with the City By-Law department but I am going to make sure I spread the word about this company and their return policies or lack of.

  5. 5

    Emma said,

    I worked for one of the locations while I was in school and I thought it was disgusting that they wouldnt allow exchanges/refunds/etc, especially when it was obviously a cheap products. One girl came in with her mom and she took the costume out to try on (over two weeks before Halloween) and it had fallen apart. The manager told her she couldnt exchange it for one that wasnt cheap/ruined and I felt so bad for the girl so when the manager went into the back I exchanged it for the girl and threw the other one in the damaged pile in the back room. The manager was just horrible so anytime people came to me I always let them exchange things


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

